Homeschool and busting a gut

I ate a shit-tonne yesterday.  On top of the entire dutch oven of veg, I also gorged on chops, pot roast, and some ice cream with homemade magic shell from The Primitive Foodie **EDIT** I was wrong.  Her recipe looks good, but what I used didn’t come from here.  I have no idea where I got it from.  Maybe chemo brain has come back to haunt me and I just think that I got a recipe from somewhere.  Anyway, I just melted 1/4 c chocolate chips with a tablespoon of coconut oil.  Sorry for any confusion.   I couldn’t finish the ice cream, but the magic shell was damn tasty and I will make it again.  It was slightly coconutty, but not overwhelming.  If you just hate coconut, you can find coconut oil without the taste.  Either way, you can have a delicious hard chocolate coating for your ice cream and not have to worry about the chemical shit storm that accompanies it.   Anyway, I woke up this morning still full.  I finished off the last of the pot roast for a late lunch, but I honestly think I’m going to go the rest of the day without food.  I’m fucking bloated.

I got my final shot for the week.  I’ve only got three days of chemo next week.  WooHoo!  Then I get a whole week off before I start back on the spinal taps and ARA-C.  I’m also starting a new oral chemo next month, so we’ll see what my new poison does to me.  I know that the dosage confused the shit outta my doctor.  That was comforting.

In other news, I can’t wait to surprise the kids with two weeks off of school.  I’m going to be using a new HS association (my current one has gotten wonky this year) so I want to take a bit of time to get used to the new association’s rules and requirements before planning next year’s curriculum.  We usually just keep rolling over into a new year without any fanfare, but I think I’m going to change things up a bit.  New (ish) curriculum, new association, maybe they’ll be into some new supplies or something.  I don’t know, perhaps we can go check out a special project of their own choosing or something.  I just know that they miss a lot of the excitement that other kids get in August when the new school year starts (not that they know they’re missing anything) and I wonder if some sort of special kick-off would help things along.  C asked for summer break this year and was disappointed when I told him no.  It’s not that we don’t take breaks, we do, I just don’t like taking three months in a row off for school.  Anyway, since things have been so bat-shit insane this year, I want to make things a little different.  We’ve never really put much fanfare in anything, but I think that is going to change.  Life’s too damn short to trudge through it.  Since we don’t do backpacks and lunchboxes, maybe a kickass science kit (build a robot?)  or something will get them a bit excited.

Well, I’m off to read some books from my library haul and daydream about D’s special Father’s Day dessert that she’s got planned.  It’s gonna be good.  I think I’m gonna get some swine for pulled pork, too.  P doesn’t want to do anything special, but the kids want it.  So he’s just gonna have to suffer 😛

Leave a Reply

