On the mend

My blood sugar is finally back to normal and I got an explanation for the throbbing back.  They’re both steroid related.  Oh well, I don’t care.  I’m feeling better.  It’s still hot, but I can’t do anything about southern summer heat.

I managed to cock up make dinner last night.  I drug a fan into the kitchen and shoved an ice pack down my shirt.  It took over an hour and tons of breaks, not to mention that I screwed everything up, but it was edible.  By this point, making dinner has become a personal challenge.  Now that I know it can be done, I can relax.

I finally got my broth finished.  It’s in the fridge gelling up as we speak.  I can’t wait until it’s ready.  I’m already craving a bowl full of meat and veggies in hot broth.  I’ve been eyeballing the rash of paleo Pho recipes that have been cropping up on chowstalker.  I’ve never had Pho before, but these soup pictures look damn tasty.

Tonight, mom is coming over after rehearsals and we’re going to grill burgers.   I’ve got some avocados and salsa that really need to be used so I’ll probably whip up some guac to go with the burgers and I’ve got a honeydew that really needs to be eaten.  And I’m going to roast some potatoes.  I convinced C to give one a try and I’ve got a small bag of fingerlings in the crisper that I don’t want to spoil.  I also whipped up a batch of Aunt Trish’s Salad Dressing a la Pioneer Woman last night to go with a simple garden salad.  If you can’t tell, I’m really looking forward to spending time with mom tonight.  I haven’t gotten to see her very much since she started rehearsals and I miss her company.  Finally, I’m bound and determined to make those pumpkin bars that I talked about the other day.  Maybe it will happen since I’ll have help tonight.

The last thing that I’m going to make (for a late lunch) is a fish chowder that I found here.  I unearthed some cod in the freezer and I’ve been craving chowder, so there ya go.  I guess I need those Omega-3’s.  I don’t eat much fish since everyone in the house is allergic and I can’t take supplements because they’re against protocol.  I need to start looking for ways to get my fish oil on.

Leave a Reply

