Happy Anniversary!

Eight years ago, the chef and I ran off to Gatlinburg (actually, I got us lost and turned a 3-hour road trip into a 6-hour fiasco) and got hitched in the woods, next to a creek, by a little (and I do mean little~the dude was shorter than me!) man called Shampoo.  It was awesome!  I thought we weren’t going to get to spend our anniversary together, but it worked out that he gets to stay home with me today.  Of course, it’s because I’m swollen from steroids (the doc said that we’re just going to let it flush out naturally, which is fine since I really don’t want to go to the hospital) and in pain.  Oh well, I’ll take it.

To celebrate our anniversary, we went and got chemo and I got an assessment to see if the swelling was anything to be concerned about.  Then P and I stopped at The Burger Joint in Clemson for lunch.  It’s been around for a while, but we’ve never eaten there.  For one, it’s expensive ($30 for the two of us) and the other reason is parking sucks in Clemson.  It’s ridiculous.  Anyway, I got the Wellington, and I have to admit that it was a tasty burger.

P and I threw around some ideas for our restaurant while we ate.  Since we plan on serving burgers, we need some sort of potato accompaniment, but P hates fryers with a passion.  As an ex-bar cook, I can relate to what a PITA deep fryers are.  Our conundrum is how do we provide something like fries or chips without the use of a fryer?  Or what alternatives are there for fries/chips that will appeal to people?  This will be an interesting challenge.

Well, I’m off.  I’ve got to elevate my legs and drink more water.

~e

Leave a Reply

