Life

Everything is still pretty quiet around here.  I have yet to hear anything about the next phase, which sort of irks me.  I’m a planner.  I feel out of sorts when I don’t know what to expect.  I’ve been trying to make plans, but I’m a bit uneasy with it since I don’t know if/when I’m going to have to make changes.  Until then, I’m planning out the rest of the month.

We start homeschool next week.  We’ve switched homeschool associations and I’ve been having trouble with the new one.  I filled out the enrollment application and paid back in June, but I still have not received my membership packet even though I should have gotten it no later than July 1st.  I’ve sent two emails and left a message on their voicemail, but I have yet to have any contact with a person.  I’m getting worried, but their outgoing message addresses the problem (apparently, many families didn’t get their packet) and says that it should be rectified by the weekend.  I’m antsy about waiting, especially since I want to start next week, but there isn’t much I can do.  I’ll give them until Monday and then I’ll make some sort of contact demanding a refund and I’ll find another homeschool association.

Until then, I’m still wading through the new curriculum and trying to figure out how it works.  It’s free and it’s supposed to be really good, but I’m having a hard time figuring out how it works…the planning and record keeping part, not the lessons.  I’m going to use it as a supplement to the Well Trained Mind method.  It’s what we started using when we first started homeschooling all those years ago, but we left after a year because neither C nor I were ready for that level of schooling.  C and D were both pretty bored last year so I think that it’s time to go back to the trivium.  I want to have the online curriculum included as a supplement so that the grandmother’s will be able to do lessons with the kids if we end up in another hospital situation again.  I certainly don’t plan on it happening, but better safe than sorry.  The kids didn’t get much schooling last December and January with all that was going on so they lost a good deal of their summer break in order to make up the days.  In the interest of avoiding that problem, I hope to have an easy to follow “emergency” lesson plan for just in case.

I’ve had lots of energy since I’ve got a full tank of blood and I’ve been chemo-free for a little while.  That means that I’ve been playing catch-up with laundry and sorting through old clothes.  I’ve finally bitten the consignment bullet and I plan to participate in my first Upstate Kids Consignment sale in September.  That means that I’ve got to organize, clean, iron, label, and tag two rubbermaid containers of kids clothes.  On the plus side, the kids finally have a manageable amount of clothing.  It really helps with laundry.  I’ve been paring down our blankets and I hope to whittle down the sheet count.  I used to think that you couldn’t have too many sheets, but now I’m not so sure.  It seems like sheets are the main component of the laundry piles.  And since I loathe folding and putting sheets/blankets away, they’re the items that get pushed in the back.  Now I just need to force myself to do the same with our books.  The very idea makes me sad.  I luuurve my books and I hate parting with them.  Unfortunately, space is precious in our house and it’s not something that we have an abundance of.  It’s a good thing our pitiful little library participates in a statewide lending program.

The last item on the books is that I plan to attend my first Dragon*Con at the end of the month.  I’m going to tag along with my bestie and her fella.  Fortunately, they don’t mind the third wheel.  I’ve been wanting to attend for years, but I’ve never gone.  I really wanted to cross something off my bucket list so P said it could be my birthday present.  I wish that he was going to be there, but he’s gotta work (or keep the kids in case gran isn’t up to a grand-baby sleepover).  I’m excited to go, but I’m a bit worried about being able to keep my stamina.  I think a big downside to all this chemo is the fact that I feel so old.  I tucker out pretty easily and my body just hurts.  I’ve been trying to stay as active as I can (for a shut-in) in the hopes that my stamina will build up.  I’ve been eyeballing the kettlebell.  I don’t think I’m up for Turkish get-ups, but I can probably handle a farmer’s carry around the house.

Well, I think that’s all for right now.  I’ve been in the kitchen a bit, but I’ve been keeping it all pretty simple.  For tonight’s dinner, all I did was chop up some radishes, celery, and carrots and I served them with some simple baked drumsticks and some fried potatoes and onions.

Quick and easy drumsticks

Rinse and dry however many drumsticks you want to cook.  For seasoning, I mixed up some dried tarragon and dried parsley and pulverized it with a mortar and pestle.  I threw in some salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  (I could have left out the parsley, as it did nothing for the chicken.)  I melted the last bit of the ghee and drizzled it over the drumsticks (these had been placed in a pie dish – since I don’t make pies, it’s an excellent roasting dish) and sprinkled the spices over the meat.  I baked them at 350 for about 45 minutes – rotate around the 20-minute mark.  Pull them out and loosely cover for about 5 minutes so the meat can rest.  Chow down and don’t forget to save your bones for stock!

Fried potatoes and onion

For this one, I diced up two small potatoes (maybe around tennis ball sized) and I sliced and quartered about 1/2 a white onion (because that’s what I had).  I browned a few tablespoons of butter (use real butter, please) and threw the taters ‘n onions in the skillet with my trusty garlic powder and salt.  I may have dashed some pepper in there, but I don’t remember.  Give it a stir and then loosely cover and let it sit for a minute over mid to mid-high heat.  Then give it another stir every few minutes until the potatoes are soft (we want the potatoes to keep their shape, so don’t overcook) .  It’s simple food, but it’s tasty and cheap.  If you add some meat, you’ve got yourself a hash.

Leave a Reply

