Phase V

I started phase five this morning.  I started off with my spinal tap and later got my vincristine.  The good news is that I’m done with that for a whole month.  I began my dose of decadron.  They halved the normal dose since I am so sensitive to steroids.  I’m back to doing my evening finger prick to monitor my blood sugar and I have to call the office if it spirals out of control again.  Fortunately, I only take the ‘roids one week out of the month.  I also started the 6MP, which is one of my oral chemo drugs.  This is the one that I will be taking every single day for the next two years.  I took it a few hours ago, I pre-medicated with an anti-emetic, and I’m still nauseous.  I may actually lose some weight this round.  I start an oral MTX next week, it is something that I will take weekly.  We’ve already run into a snafu. though.  Not only is MTX in short supply and expensive (THANK YOU PHARMACEUTICAL MONOPOLIES!) but they don’t make it in the oral dose that I need to take.  To take what is available to me, I will have to take 14 pills at a time.  We are calling the research nurse in the morning to see if there are any alternatives, but I’m not counting on it.  We’ll see.

Anyway, I’ve got a headache and I’m having hot flashes.  I’m going to *try* to go to bed after I get the pork in the crock pot for tomorrow’s dinner.

night

Leave a Reply

