Still waiting…

I’ve got an early appointment for another CBC in the morning.  I’ve been having lots of pain, I’m light-headed, and short of breath.  All signs point to a very low hemoglobin.  The research nurse told me to be prepared for a transfusion tomorrow, but we’ll have to see how it goes.  Last week, doc told me that I may be a part of the 10% of the population that doesn’t metabolize drugs properly and that may be why I’ve been having such trouble with my chemo.  I hope to hear the test results tomorrow.  I don’t know what this will mean as far as the treatment goes, but right now I just want to feel better.  P is worried about the shortness of breath, he’s afraid of me getting pneumonia again.  I don’t blame him.  I still don’t know how he made it through my episode last January.  Say what you will about being a cancer patient, but I cannot (and never want to) imagine the pain of watching your spouse or child go through this.  Chemo sucks something horrible, but I think that my parents and P have it worse.  Still, he’s holding it together much better than me.  P is the rational one.  He’s my voice of reason.  He’s what keeps me grounded.

Anyway, I just wanted to give a quick update.  I’m still on a chemo break because of my platelets and I still feel like crap.  I’ve been sleeping a lot this past week.  I guess my body is trying to recover from last week’s vincristine.  P talked to my research nurse about the pain and fatigue, but she thinks it’s just anemia and my marrow building back up.  Either way, we’ll find out more after tomorrow’s blood test.

e

Leave a Reply

